Drilon welcomes entry of Burma's Aung San Suu Kyi into Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats

Press Release
July 7, 2010

Drilon welcomes entry of Burma 's Aung San Suu Kyi into Council
of Asian Liberals and Democrats


Liberal Party National Chairman senator-elect Frank Drilon today welcomed the entry of Burmese opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi into the Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats (CALD), a prestigious organization of liberal political leaders in the Asia .

During a meeting in Manila last Month, Drilon said the CALD Executive Committee (Execom) decided to bestow an honorary individual membership title to Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, a Nobel Peace Laureate and one of Asia 's most revered icons of democracy.

"I am hopeful that the entry of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi into this council of Asian liberals can hasten the return of democracy in Burma through the initiative of dialogue and peaceful negotiations," Drilon, a former CALD chairman, said.

Drilon recalled that former President Cory Aquino, President Noynoy Aquino's mother and the Philippines 's own democracy icon, was very close to Suu Kyi and even represented the jailed Burmese leader in various international events. "Cory's heart was close to Suu Kyi. Cory believed that Suu Kyi can lead the Burmese in its fight for freedom and democracy," Drilon said.

Drilon said he was hopeful "CALD can serve as the vehicle for Suu Kyi and her aspirations to bring back democracy in Burma through the unwavering support and solidarity of the international community with the people of Burma in their continuing struggle for justice, freedom and democracy," Drilon added. The members of the CALD Execom were in Manila last week to attend the conference "Asian Liberal Parties in Power: Getting There, Remaining There" held on June 28-29 at the Dusit Thani Hotel in Makati .

Founded in 1993, CALD is a regional alliance of liberal and democratic political parties in Asia . Besides the Liberal Party of the Philippines , other members include the Democrat Party of Thailand, the Democratic Progressive Party of Taiwan, the Liberal Party of Sri Lanka, the Sam Rainsy Party of Cambodia , the Singapore Democratic Party, the Malaysian People's Movement Party (Gerakan), the National Council of the Union of Burma (NCUB), and the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P).

No comments:

Post a Comment